Day 5: Borscht

Today I started juicing and may I just say, wow!  Carrot juice, where have you been all my life?!  Yum.  Now, I’m not technically up to the juicing stage yet but considering my symptoms, an online friend suggested I start the juicing earlier.  Juices are meant to be introduced in Stage 4 and I am still in Stage 1 but the suggestion that I might get to taste something fresh, even if it was only ¼ of a cup, was too tempting to resist.  1 carrot later and I am in love with this new idea.  It’s getting pretty hard to keep eating these same flavours, day after day… the smell of chicken stock is beginning to make me a little queasy!

Last night’s beef stocked got strained off and I decided to make one of my all-time favourite soups (even pre-GAPS) borscht!

I’d forgotten how good this soup is.  The sweet aroma of simmering beetroot is fragrant and enticing and with a little dollop of crème fraiche and plenty of dill, I am in heaven.  I need lots of protein to keep full so I added some little dumplings too.  It’s really simple too, here’s what you do:

Ingredients

Soup

  • 1 bunch of beetroot (beets), peeled and chopped into chunks
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped into chunks
  • 1 brown onion, finely chopped
  • 1tsp ghee
  • 1.5L beef stock
  • 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 large clove of garlic, crushed
  • 2-3 Tbsp fresh dill, roughly torn (plus extra to garnish)
  • Crème fraiche to serve

Dumplings

  • 500g organic chicken mince (if you can’t find mince, you can just pop some thigh meat in a food processor and make your own)
  • 2-3 Tbsp fresh dill, roughly torn

Method

  1. Mix mince with 1Tbsp dill and season well.  Using hands, roll mixture into small balls and place on tray lined with baking paper.  Chill in refrigerator while you make the soup.
  2. Melt ghee in a soup tureen over med-high heat.  Add onions and fry for a minute or until soft.
  3. Add stock and bring to boil, then reduce to simmer and skim off any scum that floats to the surface.
  4. Add carrot and beetroot and continue to simmer for 10 minutes.
  5. Remove dumplings from fridge and gently drop into soup, simmer for another 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender and dumplings are cooked through.
  6. Turn off heat and stir garlic and vinegar through soup.
  7. Serve hot, ensuring each bowl has several dumplings, topped with a dollop of crème fraiche and freshly torn dill.
4 Comments

  1. Miranda said,

    July 13, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Can’t wait to try Victoria. Love a new recipe. I l adore beetroots so I can’t believe I’ve never made this! The pic looks fab…mmm

    • July 13, 2012 at 11:58 pm

      Hi Miranda,
      Ooh goodie, a new recruit! I hope you love it as much as I do.
      A word of warning though, don’t be alarmed if your ablutions turn a pinky shade of red. After my first pot of borscht my urine turned magenta and I had just about convinced myself I was dying of bladder cancer when I finally started googling and found a possible cause of red urine: beetroot. Oops, heh heh.

      • Miranda said,

        July 14, 2012 at 1:03 am

        I had a colonoscopy once as a result of eating beet juice… but the doc never asked and I didn’t make the link until afterwards. Double oops!

  2. July 14, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Oh Miranda! That’s shocking… what a thing to go through over a little bit of beetroot. :-S


Leave a Reply

