Juicing

So according to the GAPS book, you’re not supposed to introduce juice until Stage 4.  Technically speaking, I am only at the beginning of Stage 2 but I am:

a)      Desperate for something fresh; and

b)      I’ll be honest, still really constipated (ouch).

 

One of my lovely online friends in the Facebook GAPS Group told me if constipation is an issue, you should start juicing earlier.  Now, I couldn’t find the official Dr Natasha reference for that, but when you’ve eaten nothing but boiled meat and mashed root vegetables for a week, a little suspension of adherence is easily conjured.

 

As instructed by the book, I began with carrot juice.  Just one carrot at first and then increase gradually to a full cup.  Well I’ve got to say, one carrot does not actually give you much juice- I was surprised!  Those supersized tankards of juice they sell at the groovy little juice bars would have to be 500ml of liquid.  If one carrot gave me about 125ml then a large commercial juice would be like eating a bag or carrots!  *whinnies like a horse*

 

In any event, it turns out carrot juice is surprisingly nice!  Of course, we must remember now that my taste buds are seriously altered right now.  Just as a man who hasn’t seen the light for a month will squint at the dawn, I am overcome by the intense flavours of all the foods I previously took for granted.  Even if it does nothing else for me, I like that GAPS is making me appreciate the simple things a little more.

 

I got up to day 3 of my juicing challenge, eager to finally have a full glass of carrot juice (these are the biggest thrills in my life right now) when the unthinkable happened.  My juicer died.  Well, that’s not entirely true, he had a heart attack and went in to a coma.  There is a chance he may survive although he probably won’t be very pleased with me when I tell him I unplugged him straight away.

 

As it would happen, good Sir Juice-a-lot was still under warranty.  Not the store’s warranty, oh no, that was only for 12 months, but the extended warranty I cleverly purchased.  He is now with the doctors and hopefully, within 2 weeks, he will be back at my side.  As an aside, it is interesting to note that the extended warranty expires in 2 weeks.  I have a theory that manufacturers today are specifically designing electrical goods to function only up until the expiry date of their warranty and no longer as part of a grand money-scheming scam to make me, amongst other things, go buy an new juicer.  I will not yield!

 

In search of juice, I turned to my local supermarket.  I really should know better than to go looking there for what I want, but desperate times call for desperate measures.  I live near a big, ritzy shopping complex and they often stock items other stores don’t, so I felt cautiously optimistic… wrongly, it would seem.  No organic juice of any kind was to be seen and the only vegetable juice I could find that wasn’t chock-laden with apple, grape or orange was this Harvey Fresh carrot juice in a box.  I find it ironic that an item can be heat treated and packed on a shelf for months in a box yet still be called “fresh”, but rather than mount my political high horse and walk out empty handed as is so often the case at the supermarket, I decided to give it a whirl,

I cannot even begin to tell you the difference between this and the real thing.  After 3 days of experimentation, I am by no means a carrot juice connoisseur but this was just horribly wrong!  The texture was viscous like tomato juice and the flavour funky and salty.  The packaging states no added salt but I find it hard to believe.

 

Next stop was the health food store but I was faced with the same sort of overpackaged, pasteurised products as before.  What I needed was something fresh.

 

I found myself at Boost Juice.  Now, I’ve never been a huge fan of Boost.  To me, drinking a giant fruit juice is the same as a can of Coke.  It’s full of sugar you probably don’t need and most likely, you were just thirsty anyway.  Much like the packaged yoghurt craze, I figured this was just another unhealthy product with excellent marketing.  That was until I discovered they do vegetable juice- huzzah!  I got a little bit excited and rather than adding vegetables gradually to the juice, I ordered carrot, beetroot and celery (also, I was a bit embarrassed at ordering pure carrot juice.  Don’t ask me why, it doesn’t make sense!).  At $6.50 a pop it wasn’t the cheapest thing in the world but the cup is so humungous it can easily provide 2 servings.  I now have a cup of juice waiting for me in the fridge for tomorrow and, more importantly, I finally got something fresh.  *ahh*

Leave a Reply

