GAPS Week 2: Meal Plan

I have a bit of an admission to make.  That post I made last week about my groceries?  Not quite correct.  Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t intentionally trying to mislead you into thinking GAPS is cheaper than it is, rather, I had misled myself.  You see, that shopping trolley full of goodness I had, as it turns out, wasn’t nearly enough to satisfy me and I ended up making several trips to many other shops to buy further supplies of meats, veggies and eggs throughout the week.

Wisened form a whole week of GAPS Intro, I am a pro at this now.  I have a much clearer idea of how much food I’m actually going to need to fill me up and keep me (reasonably) happy and have planned enough variety that I won’t throw the towel in and buy myself a chocolate doughnut.

Here’s my meal plan for the week ahead:

SUNDAY
Breakfast: Hot water w lemon juice;Nitrite-free bacon;

Fried organic eggs;

Fried portabella mushroom;

Ghee

Morning snack: Broth w sauerkraut juice
Lunch: Beetroot soup w sauerkraut   juice;Beef meatballs
Afternoon snacks: Beetroot, carrot &   celery juice;Cauliflower mash w ghee;

Broth w sauerkraut juice

Dinner: Lamb shanks w sauerkraut   & parsnip puree
After dinner: 2 tsp crème fraiche;Chamomile tea
MONDAY
Breakfast: Hot water w lemon juice;GAPS zucchini slice;

½ an avocado

Morning snack: Broth w sauerkraut juice
Lunch: Lamb shanks w parsnip puree
Afternoon snacks: Beetroot, carrot &   celery juice;Cauliflower mash w ghee;

Broth w sauerkraut juice

Dinner: Roast chicken Maryland w Celeriac puree;Boiled carrots
2 tsp crème fraiche;Ginger tea
TUESDAY
Breakfast: Hot water w lemon juice;2 boiled eggs;

Sardines in olive oil

Morning snack: Broth w sauerkraut juice
Lunch: GAPS- adapted soppa tal   armla (Maltese “Widow’s soup”)
Afternoon snacks: Beetroot, carrot &   celery juice;½ an avocado;

1 tsp crème fraiche;

Broth w sauerkraut juice

Dinner: Roast pumpkin soup;Beef meatballs (fried);

Soft fried onions;

Sauerkraut

After dinner: 2 tsp crème fraiche;Peppermint tea
WEDNESDAY
Breakfast: Hot water w lemon juice;GAPS pikelets fried in   ghee;

2 tsp crème fraiche;

Drizzle of leatherwood   honey

Morning snack: Broth w sauerkraut juice
Lunch: Zucchini soup;Nut flour bread;

1 boiled egg

Afternoon snacks: Beetroot, carrot &   celery juice;½ an avocado;

2 Tbsp cooked, shredded   tuna;

1 tsp extra virgin olive   oil;

Broth w sauerkraut juice

Dinner: Osso bucco w gremolata;Cauliflower   mash
After dinner: 2 tsp crème fraiche;Chamomile tea
THURSDAY
Breakfast: Hot water w lemon juice;GAPS zucchini slice;

½ an avocado

Morning snack: Broth w sauerkraut juice
Lunch: Osso bucco w cauliflower   mash
Afternoon snacks: Beetroot, carrot &   celery juice;GAPS pikelets w a drizzle   of honey & 1 tsp crème fraiche;

Broth w sauerkraut juice

Dinner: Poached chicken breast in   broth;Steamed bok choy;

Boiled carrots

After dinner: 2 tsp crème fraiche;Ginger tea
FRIDAY
Breakfast: Hot water w lemon juice;Nut flour bread w ghee   & a little honey;

1 boiled egg

Morning snack: Broth w sauerkraut juice
Lunch: Soppa tal armla
Afternoon snacks: Beetroot, carrot &   celery juice;½ an avocado;

2 Tbsp cooked, shredded   tuna;

1 tsp extra virgin olive   oil;

Broth w sauerkraut juice

Dinner: Poached salmon fillets;Cauliflower mash;

Boiled green beans

After dinner: 2 tsp crème fraiche w   drizzle of honey;Ginger tea
SATURDAY
Breakfast: Hot water w lemon juice;Gravlax w dill;

Poached eggs;

1 tbsp crème fraiche

Morning snack: Broth w sauerkraut juice
Lunch: Soppa tal armla
Afternoon snacks: Beetroot, carrot &   celery juice;½ an avocado;

2 Tbsp cooked, shredded   tuna;

1 tsp extra virgin olive   oil;

Broth w sauerkraut juice

Dinner: Whole roast chicken;Onion gravy;

Boiled green beans;

Boiled carrots

After dinner: 2 tsp crème fraiche w   drizzle of honey;Ginger tea;

30ml of my homemade   limoncello if I’m feeling naughty!

How much did this all set me back?  Well, for 2 people, buying the best produce I could find, keeping in mind that IO have my own lemon tree, and having bought a few extra veggies to pickle, that cost me a grand total of $184!!

This just goes to show why we have an obesity epidemic in Australia.  As the cost of living skyrockets, so too does the cost of buying decent, healthy produce like meats, eggs and vegetables.  Sure if I wanted to eat processed cheese on white, homebrand bread, my grocery bill would be much cheaper.  But at what cost my health?

Leave a Reply

