GAPS Intro Zucchini Slice

Still trundling along on the GAPS Intro diet.  My goodness, I’ve never eaten so much meat in my whole life!  I’m pretty pleased to have survived the egg-white challenge, being able to eat eggs again introduces a lot more options in to my diet but by jove, I’ve never eaten so many eggs in my whole life either- phew!  I really don’t like having meat dished for breakfast, so eggs are my best bet, but I’m getting a wee bit sick of them.  Boiled, scrambled, poached and fried, yes there are slight variations, but in the end they are just eggs.  I’m also slowly introducing nuts, which means nut meal is on the cards and I was contemplating this when it struck me- I can make zucchini slice!

Eggs, bacon, zucchini, onion… they’re all totally GAPS Intro friendly!  A good zucchini slice is reminiscent of picnics in Springtime or the warm smells of mum’s kitchen.  It’s an Aussie classic for which I have much love and nostalgia.  Traditional zucchini slice is made of eggs, zucchini and flour and pretty much whatever scrappy bits of bacon of vegetables you have lying around (it’s really good for using up leftovers like that).  Wheat flour is forbidden on GAPS and I am not about to mill my own nut flour, so I started searching around the old inter-webs and I discovered that several paleo cooks use almond meal in zucchini slices!  I decided to give it a go and what I came up with looks, smells and tastes just like I remembered it, if not better.  The only difference is the texture has teensy chunks of almond in it, which i rather like.  I can’t wait for tomorrow morning so I can eat a big chunk of it!

INGREDIENTS

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 2 large zucchinis, grated
  • 2 large rashers of bacon, rind trimmed, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, peeled & grated
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 mushroom, finely chopped
  • 2 Tbsp parsley, finely chopped
  • Salt & pepper to taste

METHOD

  1. Pre-heat oven to 200oC
  2. Beat eggs in a large bowl, then add almond meal and mix thoroughly
  3. Add zucchini and carrot to the batter and stir to combine
  4. Heat a large skillet over medium heat, add bacon to pan
  5. Once bacon has released some fat into the pan, add onions and mushrooms to pan and fry until bacon is golden and onion is clarified
  6. Add bacon, onion, mushrooms and pan juices to the batter and mix, adding seasoning as you go.
  7. Spread batter into a lasagne pan and bake in oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown on top and a skewer comes out clean.
  8. Serve hot or cold.

I’ll be having a generous wedge for tomorrow morning’s breakfast, possibly with a few slices of avocado.  I’m so excited!

1 Comment

  1. Marion said,

    July 24, 2012 at 12:46 am

    I made this last night and it is very tasty. We had some of it warm last night with minestrone soup and some this morning toasted under the griller with poached eggs. Yummy! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

