GAPS Toad In The Hole

When I was a little girl, about 10 years old, my mum bought a children’s cookbook at a library book sale.  It was a British book, with old fashioned oven temperatures, but filled with traditional classic cooking like basic roast beef and coconut ice.  It was my fist cookbook and the recipes I loved in that tome have stuck with me for life.  One such beloved recipe was the aforementioned coconut ice, despite the multitude of burnt hand and mouth injuries incurred… how many times did I stick my fingers in that liquid lava, expecting sweet salvation, only to be rewarded with a skin-peeling scald and a bandaged hand for a week?  Ah, the impulsiveness of youth.  Thankfully however, not all the dishes were quite so dangerous and one that brought me many satisfying meals with minimal war wounds was toad in the hole.

Now those of you who were raised with American cooking would know toad in the hole as an egg, fried in a piece of bread, but I am talking about the old English toad in the hole: sausages, baked in a pudding of fluffy, spongy pancake batter.  The dish works for breakfast, lunch or dinner and is perfect for soaking up gravy and filling up tums.

Sadly, the classic toad in the hole recipe is not GAPS friendly, relying heavily on wheat.  The recipe is easy to remember: 8 sausages, 1 cup self-raising flour, 1 cup milk, 1 egg and a pinch of salt.  The milk aspect is easily altered but substituting wheat flour is tricky.

Without toast, cereal, pancakes, fruit or any of the usual morning fare, GAPS breakfasts be something of an ordeal so when toad in the hole popped in to my head, it became an obsession.  Must… have… toad!

I found some lovely sausages at my local butcher, just meat and garlic, and set about creating my own toad in the hole.  It’s not quite the same as the memories of my childhood, but it is fluffy, spongey and tasty.  Perfect for breakfast on those frosty Winter mornings, piping hot with a side of onion gravy.

GAPS Toad In The Hole

Ingredients

  • 8 grain-free sausages
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 5 organic eggs
  • 1 tsp bicarb soda (not really GAPS legal, but a teensy bit surely won’t hurt…?)
  • Good pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp ghee/coconut oil, melted

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 175oC
  2. Pan fry or grill sausages over gentle heat until they are cooked through
  3. Grease ovenproof casserole dish with ghee/coconut oil
  4. Arrange sausages in casserole dish
  5. Combine eggs, almond milk, flours, salt and bicarb soda, mix thoroughly
  6. Pour batter over sausages
  7. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until golden and skewer comes out clean.

4 Comments

  1. mdsuzetta said,

    August 5, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    So gonna try this!
    Love the blog so much Victoria!!

  2. Betsy Davenport, PhD said,

    August 21, 2012 at 6:03 am

    How come it’s called Toad in the Hole? I mean, I barely can justify that name for the eggs fried in bread that we’ve done (and have done recently with paleo bread and a lot of butter in the pan), but what your photo shows isn’t visually reminiscent of any toad or hole, or combination of same, that I have seen. It looks delicious, and I might have to try it.

    • August 21, 2012 at 9:13 am

      I don’t really know why, Betsy! I grew up eating “toad in the hole” and that’s all it was… fried sausages, covered in pancakey batter, baked in a deep dish. This was the GAPS-compliant closest version I could come up with to the original thing.


Leave a Reply

